PDA

View Full Version : Introducing Castaway Farms Equine Creations

JohyH
08-28-2016, 12:14 AM
Hello Everyone!
I've been a member of Blab for a few years now and I'm finally at a point where I feel comfortable advertising my horses So I'd like to reintroduce myself. :toothy Plus I think if I don't try to make my hobby pay for itself a little my husband might divorce me Lol! (I'm kidding!) Let me tell you a little about myself.

I've been collecting for 30 years now! My first model horse was Legionario III (AKA Crystal Lake). I still have him (her) and the poor thing has been through the wringer! Broken leg from a friend, teeth marks from a dog, and little bits of paint from a CM job that I never got completely off. I did a few basic custom paint jobs as a teenager but at that age I thought painting Breyers almost sacrilegious! I collected lightly through the years, but my collection really started to blossom when I joined Blab and the CC. And I also rediscovered customizing! Now, I've never been very good at painting (I'm still not....unless it's a building :toothy) but I've always loved drawing and I'm not terrible at it (not great, but not terrible either :toothy). I've discovered I have a great love and a bit of talent at doing deco etchies. And earlier this year I was asked by a Breyer representative to do one of my state themed deco etchies for the BF Silent Auction (He was #15)! It was such an amazing honor and so exciting to see people's reactions to him all weekend at Breyerest. And to top off the weekend his predecessor, the horse who got the attention of Breyer, placed in a really big CM Deco class at the BF Open Show!